Geen categorie · Review

Review: The First Time We Met – Jo Lovett

Yesterday was the publishing day of The First Time We Met by Jo Lovett! I got the opportunity to review this book. Find out what I thought of it in this blog post!

What is the book about?

What if you met The One on his wedding day?

Izzy doesn’t believe in love at first sight, but when Sam walks into the cafe where she works one winter’s morning, she knows without a doubt that he’s the one. Too bad Sam’s getting married. Today.

Nearly a year later, Izzy still can’t stop thinking about Sam, the one that got away, but she knows it’s time to move on: he’s a married man and probably wouldn’t recognise her if he passed her on the street.

But Sam has never forgotten Izzy, the funny, gorgeous woman who asked him out on his wedding day. If the timing had only been better, he knows they could have had something wonderful.

When Izzy and Sam’s paths finally cross again, everything has changed. But with the Atlantic Ocean and decades of baggage between them, they are about to find out whether some obstacles are too big for even true love to overcome.

An unforgettable love story about what happens when the stars finally align. Fans of One Day in December, The Day We Met and Jojo Moyes will fall head over heels for The First Time We Met.

What did I think of it?

Rating: 4 out of 5.

The cover of this book reminded me of One Day in December by Josie Silver, which I absolutely loved. So that’s how I clicked the request button NetGalley!

This is such a quick, heartfelt read. It was written very well, which made that I flew through the book. The story is told through the point of view of both Sam and Izzy, which gives an extra insight into the story. I think the book also consists of some sensitive topics, which are handled pretty well, in my opinion. Izzy and Sam were likeable and identifiable characters, in my opinion.

The book consists of some major time jumps, but it didn’t really bother me. I was really invested in the life stories of all the characters and couldn’t stop reading. I loved that we didn’t get to see the whole of their lives in too much detail, but just enough information.

Overall, you can see that I really loved this book!

A song I associate with this book is Someone You Loved by Lewis Capaldi.

Thank you NetGalley and Bookouture for providing me with an advanced reader copy.

One thought on “Review: The First Time We Met – Jo Lovett

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s